Heron students attend Alexandra Palace Children's Book Awards

Heron students at Children's Book Awards

Heron Hall Academy's year 7 students joined 500 students, from schools in North London, who attended the Alexandra Palace Children's Book Awards (APCBA).

Over the spring term, a group of positive readers committed to join Md. Morris & Md. Senussi for weekly lunchtime and after school discussions based on the six titles shortlisted for the awards.

These students contributed to the awards ceremony by each placing their vote on their favourite book.

They were also accompanied by 20 of their peers, nominated by their English teachers for their outstanding efforts in lessons.

At the event our students were involved in an author workshop with Steve Tasane, author of Child I, who won the APCBA Librarian's Choice Awards.

Students were treated to a question and answer session and asked many questions such as 'How did you create the emotions for your characters in Child I?' and 'What inspired you to continue to write when you had previously been rejected by publishers?'.

Our students also took part in a book signing opportunity and met all five authors present, including the APCBA Children's Choice winner, Jane Elson, author of Will You Catch Me?

The awards ceremony was hosted by legendary poet, author and national treasure, Michael Rosen who entertained us with his energetic poetry and anecdotal stories. Rosen graciously took the time to have photos with our students.

Md. Morris, Heron's librarian:

'Our students work really hard and love reading, this event was a fitting way to continue to inspire & reward them and to promote our love of reading. I am really proud of the book club readers who gave up their fee time for discussions, activities and not least, reading. The students all showed a great interest in the event and upheld our school's values throughout the day. Thank you to all parents, carers, students, staff and Alexandra Palace Education who supported the event.'

All shortlisted titles are available in our school library.

Click here for more information about the authors.